Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of the Year

Dave Roberts Finishes Second for National League Manager of the Year

Dave Roberts Finishes Second for National League Manager of the Year

Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo was named National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday. Arizona jumped 24 wins, finishing 93-69 in 2017 after posting the exact opposite record, 69-93, the year before. The Diamondbacks finished in the first NL Wild Card spot and beat the Rockies in a one-game playoff before being swept by the Dodgers in the Division Series.

How's that for a rookie campaign? He joins Kirk Gibson in 2011 and Bob Melvin in 2007.

Lovullo finished in first place with more than double the points of Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts, who finished in second.

In the American League, Twins skipper Paul Molitor won the honor. It was the first time a team had lost 100 games and then reached the playoffs in the very next season. Molitor turned around the Twins after a 103-loss season. He's the first Twins manager to win the award since Ron Gardenhire in 2010 and the third in franchise history (Tom Kelly, 1991).

Powered by Paul Goldschmidt, Jake Lamb and midseason acquisition J.D. Martinez, and led by pitchers Zack Greinke and Robbie Ray, the Diamondbacks made the playoffs this year.

Moscow getting contradictory signals from United States of America on Putin-Trump meeting
Russian President Vladimir Putin has denied the allegations, and the president has said that he took him at his word. "And you have President Putin very strongly, vehemently says he had nothing to do with that", Trump said .

Molitor is the second person enshrined in the Baseball Hall of Fame as a player to later become Manager of the Year, joining Frank Robinson.

Molitor received 18 first-place votes, six second-place votes, and four third-place votes.

Lovullo won the honor in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

Molitor's victory was closer than that of the National League, as he received 18 first-place votes in comparison to the 11 that Cleveland Indianas skipper Terry Francona received. Houston Astros manager A.J. Hinch received the only other first-place vote and finished third.

Noticias recomendadas

Nos complace brindar esta oportunidad para compartir información, experiencias y observaciones sobre lo que está en las noticias.
Algunos de los comentarios se pueden reimprimir en otras partes del sitio o en el periódico.
Gracias por tomarse el tiempo para ofrecer sus pensamientos.